Satnav vs Mounted Phone

Got a spanner in the works? Post your motorcycle problems here.
gbags

Satnav vs Mounted Phone

Post by gbags »

Hi,

I’ve been using a Garmin Zumo 590L for years which was flawless but it’s now failing. I hate to ditch it as it’s been so good but I have to.

We’re now in 2024 and I’m not technical so can I have suggestions to replace it please?

Firstly, do I mount a phone up front and run Google Maps, Waze or MapsMe on it? I’ve heard this can thrash the phone to bits; is that right? And if you do recommend this system, what mount would you suggest?

Secondly, a replacement GPS. Something tough and reliable for long trips in far flung countries, mainly Road but some off piste too. Simple and easy to use as I now qualify for a bus pass.

Many thanks,

Graham
Tramp

Re: Satnav vs Mounted Phone

Post by Tramp »

The 595lm is nearly the same as 590 and cheap too, I've got one as a main satnav for road..

You'll never get anything as easy to use as a garmin or tom tom..Android phones even with osmand mapping which is best basic offline their is...is pretty simple and shows all roads and offroad too...takes gpx routes and tracks with ease...so you can still use basecamp or mapsource ..ram quick grip xl holds any phone solid or quickgrip..

I'm using a samsung A13 cheap and big screen, tried a rugged phone lasted 6 months and screen went zero back up from China.. hence now use samsung.

Old age eyes mean on handlebars now even with bifocals on screen it's hard..

Have a look on Facebook at dmd2 group...very very good but complicated..as they use android tablets 8inch screens.
Magnusson

Post by Magnusson »

You also have the option of installing Carplay/Android-Auto display. It uses your phone but with a cheaper mounted display.
Like these https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=CarPlay+fo ... nb_sb_noss
Champagne taste on beer budget.
gbags

Post by gbags »

Thanks fellas, though I didn’t understand any of the software talk.