Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Got a spanner in the works? Post your motorcycle problems here.
Post Reply
Tramp
Posts: 7193
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:04 am
Has thanked: 215 times
Been thanked: 379 times

Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Post by Tramp » Tue Sep 10, 2019 5:24 pm

Ok... Has anyone got a 595 zumo and managed to get it to display topo maps? Ive tried discover uk its in map folder and acrivated but buggered if i can get it to show on screen :cry:..

Adventure Bike Rider New Issue Out Now
pinball1008
Posts: 1340
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 3:25 pm
Location: France 85
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Post by pinball1008 » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:46 pm

Not all those wandering are lost

Tramp
Posts: 7193
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:04 am
Has thanked: 215 times
Been thanked: 379 times

Re: Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Post by Tramp » Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:09 pm

Tried that Gary.....its in my top drawer till ive more time and patience lol :lol: ....if it wont do what i want ill sell on ..

Hope all is well in the Vendee :D

Andi_Archer
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Re: Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Post by Andi_Archer » Thu Sep 12, 2019 8:56 pm

Have you installed it to the gps device ,just Basecamp or both?

Post some images of the various screens Tramp

Tramp
Posts: 7193
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:04 am
Has thanked: 215 times
Been thanked: 379 times

Re: Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Post by Tramp » Fri Sep 13, 2019 6:52 am

Its a topo card on micro, its fine as ir works on other satnavs from garmins... Dropped in slot and box ticked as normal on 595 shows up on sat nav when maps load at start up... Then deselct all other mapping and go track up as normal with off road mode selected... Itll be something simple but garmins instructions always leave something out lol... Their hq is 3mls from me..


Im going to try renaming the map file type on card gmapsupp is std so ill go. Img always more ways to skin a cat lol..

User avatar
zimtim
Posts: 2350
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 10:01 am
Has thanked: 498 times
Been thanked: 410 times

Re: Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Post by zimtim » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:34 am

Will the Topo maps work for Europe.
While the zumo devices are compatible with TOPO mapping products (with the exception of European TOPO mapping),

Or am I reading it wrong.
It is easier to defend yourself against a thousand enemies, than it is to defend against one backstabbing friend

Andi_Archer
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 104 times

Re: Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Post by Andi_Archer » Fri Sep 13, 2019 9:43 am

Did you check the map support for those Topo maps as it may not work on your model of GPS?

TalkyToaster has some free [ and paid for] topo maps if you want to try an alternative
https://talkytoaster.me.uk/

Tramp
Posts: 7193
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 6:04 am
Has thanked: 215 times
Been thanked: 379 times

Re: Zumo 590,595 and topo maps?

Post by Tramp » Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:58 pm

Well after some reasearch on usa sites :lol: ...it transpires that instead of loading the map images file ie gmapsupp.img into a foldr named garmin as normal you have to add to the map folder on the garmin satnavs main directory....works the same way on most zumo models and even newer nuvi models too...

So always away :D just needs a different angle of attack..

Post Reply

Return to “TECHNICAL”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wks and 144 guests