Debate - Operation Snap - Gwent

Anything goes, and mine's a Guinness.
Cone

Debate - Operation Snap - Gwent

Post by Cone »

So I noticed a page online. Gwent police are now requesting images of people contravening traffic laws are sent in so they can be assessed for prosecution.

Operation Snap will investigate offences of Dangerous Driving, Driving without Due Care and Attention, Careless Driving, using a mobile phone, not wearing a seat belt, contravening a red traffic light, contravening solid white lines, and other offences where the driver is clearly not in proper control of the vehicle.

I'm not sure this is really a good thing, I mean none of us obey every law to the letter we all deviate slightly but I am adamant I am a safe rider and driver. I don't know what to think but I do know I see a dash cam in cars probably 1 in 10 and on almost every motorcycle.

I don't really know what to make of this, certainly if I had a letter through the post saying i had been reported and was being investigate i'd be mightily pissed off.

:!: :?:

https://gosafe.org/faq/operation-snap/
qcnr

Re: Debate - Operation Snap - Gwent

Post by qcnr »

So the Welsh police want everyone to turn stasi snitch.... :shock:
WIBO

Re: Debate - Operation Snap - Gwent

Post by WIBO »

Good debate subject.... as a retired member of one the finest police forces IMO, the RUC G.C. I'd first suggest getting the suits out of their offices and back to the police work they were trained to do to begin with. One lf my last bosses, a Chief Super' before he was murdered by IRA scummers ( under car booby trap bomb) he thought nothing of going out on the beat and taking on normal routine prosecutions when deserved. Utmost respect for him for that alone.