under floor heating

Anything goes, and mine's a Guinness.
Redmurty

under floor heating

Post by Redmurty »

I am building an extension at the moment I was looking at under floor heating. Does anyone have any experience with it good or bad cheers Spud ;)
Life... it's not a dress rehearsal

You don't waste time... you waste yourself
special one

Re: under floor heating

Post by special one »

I'm a builder mate so have a bit of experience with these, mainly two types, electric matting and piped system, the latter being the better but more expensive.

The electric ones are ok for back ground heat or heating a cold floor but they are not a replacement for conventional radiators, I've had two of these electric ones fail so won't fit them now, if a customer wants them I'll let them do it at their risk.

The piped ones are better but require more labour and more cost, again the ones I've experienced haven't been good enough for a replacement of a radiator, they still need additional heat.
There may be better systems around but so far they haven't impressed me enough to convert to them.

Phil
Current bikes...

2003 KTM 950 adventure in silvery blue...

2013 KTM 450 exc-f in orange /white

2007 Scorpa SY250 trials in blue.
Redmurty

Post by Redmurty »

excellent thank you this is the sort of info I was looking for owe you a beer cheers Spud ;)
Life... it's not a dress rehearsal

You don't waste time... you waste yourself
Willbrown1200

Post by Willbrown1200 »

Yes - i am a buidling services design engineer (design all the bits - wires pipes etc, that go into buildings to make them work) and have been involved in quite a few design projects with underfloor htg. In a domestic building it can be an excellent solution, as long as it is designed and installed correctly.