Which iPhone Satellite Navigation Application

The essential art of farkling.
OB1

Which iPhone Satellite Navigation Application

Post by OB1 »

This year, I'm heading round the four corners of the UK and I'm thinking about a more reliable navigation app for my iPhone. I have a stand-alone TomTom Rider, but it's more than a decade old and woefully out of date. I also have a stand alone Garmin for the car but it's not waterproof.
This leaves me with the iPhone apps for navigation. I've been using Skobbler's GPS Navigation for a few years but never really gelled with it as it isn't perfect: it has told me to turn right when on a motorway but when you look at the screen, the route is clearly left... :pinch:
So now I'm thinking of maybe a TomTom or Garmin app. What I need to know is the pros and cons for each of them... please help!
A • AND • B • CDN • CH • CN • CY • CYM • CZ • D • DK • E • EST • ET • F • FIN • GR • HK • HR • I • IL • IRL • L • LT • LV • M • N • N-IRL • NL • P • PL • Q • RSM • S • SCO • SCV • SLO • TR • USA • YU
justrtw.com
Fishandchips

Re: Which iPhone Satellite Navigation Application

Post by Fishandchips »

I have been using google maps which is great for an A to B trip, also gives you 2 or 3 routes as options and calculates the route time using road traffic flow data. You can choose fastest or a more scenic route although it doesn't tell you this.
I would be interested to see what others use on their iPhones as google maps won't let you plan your own route with waypoints. I tried using google on a computer and sending to my phone but it didn't work.
A good app would be perfect for me also.
Garry
Ourdavid

Post by Ourdavid »

Have a look at Waze you get live traffic and speed camera alerts and it's free. I use it all the time in the car and it hasn't failed me yet.
GB

Post by GB »

navmii works well on iPhone and you don't need a phone signal either.
Finally back on a GS :D
FAT MATT

Post by FAT MATT »