Advice choosing my first adventure oriented bike

The Things We Ride
ChrisWMan

Advice choosing my first adventure oriented bike

Post by ChrisWMan »

Hello everybody,
I'm looking to buy my first adventure oriented bike and I was hoping you guys and girls could help me with some advice.
I'm new to riding (it's going to be my first bike) and the Netherlands isn't an off-road country. I'll probably be riding mostly paved roads (The Netherlands, Scotland, Scandinavia) but I'm looking for an all rounder which I can take off the beaten path if the need arises.
For now I'm looking at two different bikes:

Honda XL600 Transalp
1994-35000km-1450 euro
1996-47000km-1250 euro

Suzuki V-Strom 650
2005-22000km-3795 euro
2007-27000km-3955 euro

The Honda would be for a year or two after which I would probably buy something newer, the Suzuki probable 3 to 5 years (unless I'd want something heavier).

Any advice on these bike (or something more fitting) would be very much appreciated.
qcnr

Re: Advice choosing my first adventure oriented bike

Post by qcnr »

I have an XL 600 Transalp. I have modified it a bit and it has knobbly tyres on it.
But it is no offroader although it does cope with tracks.. Also as it is only a 600, long journeys can be tiresome, especially if you
want to use motorways to get somewhere quicker. Anything up to 120 km/h is ok. Above that
and it start vibrating too much and drinks fuel. So there the time you gain by going faster
gets used up in more frequent fuel stops.
As an allrounder it can't be faulted, capable of most stuff but not good at anything, and they are
to be honest a bit heavy. My next bike is definately going on the scales before I buy it. :lol:
And I'll have a roll of carpet with me, so I can put the bike down and lift it up. :shock: :lol:
zimtim

Post by zimtim »

As it would be your first bike I would go for the Honda, your are bound to drop it a few times, battle scars on a bike that old wont matter that much.