Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Got a spanner in the works? Post your motorcycle problems here.
Post Reply
SparkyVFR
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:16 pm

Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by SparkyVFR » Tue May 23, 2017 5:53 pm

Folks, looking for some advice here. I have a Honda Optimate 3+ and have just bought a GSA and wondered what I need to do to make it work. Is it as simple as connecting the flying lead to the battery like with my VFR or do in need one of these canbus DIN plugs Ive read about?
Any advice is appreciated!

Adventure Bike Rider New Issue Out Now
AustinW
Posts: 1013
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:37 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by AustinW » Tue May 23, 2017 6:01 pm

connect a fly lead to the battery.
The can-bus stuff is only needed if you charge it via the accessory socket.

SparkyVFR
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by SparkyVFR » Tue May 23, 2017 6:02 pm

Great, thanks for that.

KTM Deano
Posts: 439
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by KTM Deano » Tue May 23, 2017 9:51 pm

Had the same dilemma myself a while ago. Don't bother doing it via the accessory socket. It's not a straightforward method and more hassle than it's worth IMHO. Just wire accessory lead direct to the battery (thumbs)

SparkyVFR
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2015 1:16 pm

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by SparkyVFR » Wed May 24, 2017 7:59 pm

Sounds like that's the best way to do it. Thanks folks.

Nick_2112
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:29 pm
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by Nick_2112 » Wed May 24, 2017 9:26 pm

Sorry to hijack this thread with a question, but,
does anybody have a suggestion for a better and more reliable 2 pin plug and socket, than the white ones (tamia, I think) that come fitted to the optimate and fly leads?
Some of mine are only working intermitantly, cheers.

KTM Deano
Posts: 439
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by KTM Deano » Thu May 25, 2017 4:58 pm

Those white plugs are old now. They use the new black plugs now, much better reliable connection. Check out the optimate website for more info

Nick_2112
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:29 pm
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by Nick_2112 » Fri May 26, 2017 9:33 pm

Are the black plugs able the fit on current chargers and fly leads or to get the better plugs do you have to replace?
I was hoping to find a M/F plug & socket that could easily be fitted to existing gear.

Andi_Archer
Posts: 1775
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 4:13 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 111 times

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by Andi_Archer » Sat May 27, 2017 10:28 am

You can get them on the Chinese sites if your not in a rush or ebay should have them listed under Optimate plug or connector

Nick_2112
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:29 pm
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Charging my GSA with an Optimate 3+

Post by Nick_2112 » Sat May 27, 2017 12:36 pm

thanks for advice

Post Reply

Return to “TECHNICAL”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 54 guests