GPS QUESTION, WHAT TO BUY

Got a spanner in the works? Post your motorcycle problems here.
Whippet

GPS QUESTION, WHAT TO BUY

Post by Whippet »

Advice please, I need to buy a gps bundle to hard wire into my bike, I need it specifically to navigate on off road routes.
I've no experience of gps specific units , but have used a Navigator 4 significantly over the last few years.
I've been advised that I will be unable to put off road files onto the navigator as it will not have the detail needed.
Basically what will I need to spend? , what would people recommend from experience and would I need to spend £500+ for something like a Montana or would something cheaper do the job.
Thanks
Grahamkevinbutler

Re: GPS QUESTION, WHAT TO BUY

Post by Grahamkevinbutler »

Montana, had it three years, best unit have had for both road and off, still use my nav 4 as I sometimes travel with two units on, when touring
WillS

Post by WillS »

Another vote for the Garmin Montana (thumbs) , great bit of kit with so many great features, and really easy to use, after a bit of practice. I use it for Off-road, on road, walking, mountain biking and also in the car.
Easy to download maps and gpx files, share wireless gpx files.
Does everything you need, and a range of mounts including powered 12v.
oldoak

Post by oldoak »

I've used a garmin 340 (about £200) for user defined off road trails. Its easy enough to fit. I would say you have to really throw yourself into the user experience and get to know how any GPS you have works especially if you are going to go off road. Garmin stuff is good because you can use other peoples maps not just their own.

I did quite a few of Chris Scotts routes in Morocco with it as well as a few of my own. It takes some time to get used to the software (Basecamp)involved too. I found it to be pretty clunky and not all that fantastic visually. However, once you know what you are doing it works and gets the job done.