Motorcycling on Tenerife...

The black art of moving from A to B on foreign soil
flamair

Motorcycling on Tenerife...

Post by flamair »

Hi all

Ok, I've booked a long weekend (Fri-Mon) for my missus' 40th birthday - to the Spanish island of Tenerife.

We'll be travelling in early March, and I've hired a BMW GS1200 :o for two days. So, my question is this. Can anyone recommend any routes, roads to ride, places to see, must see villages/towns/scenery/beaches etc.? Neither of us have been to Tenerife before, so we haven't a clue. I understand it's quite hard to find poor roads there, but would appreciate any feedback from you knowledgeable lot on here!!

I hasten to add, I've been touring abroad for almost 20 years, so am not a beginner. However, this is the first fly/ride thing I've booked.

Any help or suggestions would be massively appreciated!!

Ian
Remember, you're unique!

(Just like everyone else)
Moorso

Re: Motorcycling on Tenerife...

Post by Moorso »

Hi Ian

Believe it or not I'm just back from Tenerife (although not motorcycling) as my father lives for part of the year there.
The island is split (literally) into two halves by the volcano and national park of Teide. The northern side of the island is much more traditional with the south very touristy.

For bike routes, head up into the mountain[s] and National Park (as well as the other volcanic parks like El Chinyero). My father has recommended that if you drive roads like the TF-24, TF-373 and the TF-21 with viewpoints like Montaña Blanca Sendero and Tabonal Negro. I've tried to list some other stuff below.