Italy Advice Please

The black art of moving from A to B on foreign soil
gbags

Italy Advice Please

Post by gbags »

Hi, I'm heading down to Italy in two weeks time and then plan to ferry across from Bari to Macedonia.

Can anyone suggest any decent routes, POI on the way down? I thought of heading down the west side, Genoa-Florence-Naples then cross to Bari but we primarily want good mountain A or B roads and older towns/villages. This is my first time past Florence so I'd appreciate your experience if you know the area.

Cheers,

G
moto al

Re: Italy Advice Please

Post by moto al »

Hi bud , will be in Pisa ,2 weeks today . Your more than welcome to join us .moto Al (thumbs)
moto al
gbags

Post by gbags »

Hi Al,
How long will you be there for? We planned a few days on the way down, around Annecy to Briancon. Then on down towards Pisa.
moto al

Post by moto al »

gbags wrote:Hi Al,
How long will you be there for? We planned a few days on the way down, around Annecy to Briancon. Then on down towards Pisa.
hi bud our plans ,28th meeting up with Moto pals in Pisa ,29th Glasgow pals bagni di Luca .30th family biss rapallo ,then head south too Livorno . Elba? Corsica .sardinia .weather dictates...??? Cheers Al la dolce vita. :pinch: (thumbs)
moto al
Wapping

Post by Wapping »

You really do have to laugh sometimes...
gbags wrote:Hi, I'm heading down to Italy in two weeks time...... we primarily want good mountain A or B roads and older towns/villages....G
....and wonder what the sudden (two weeks notice) lightbulb moment brought about the urgent need to ride to Macedonia (down good mountain A and B roads, natch) was. 'Older villages' is a new one though; 17th century OK?

The central spine of Italy is nothing but mountains, hills and littered with towns or villages.

What have you been doing for the last 365 or more days?

What happens to your holiday if nobody replies?

Do you own a map? That's a serious question as many bods that I encounter don't.