Realistic daily mileage...

The black art of moving from A to B on foreign soil
Nessmuk

Realistic daily mileage...

Post by Nessmuk »

I've already posted this on XRV and got some good advice. I thought that maybe some people here might have some hard won knowledge they'd like to pass on too.

I've never ridden abroad or done more than a couple of hundred miles in one go, but hopefully that will all change next year.

A friend has a place in SE Spain and we are starting to plan a ride down there. According to Google earth it's a distance of around 1400 miles.

Can anyone who has travelled that sort of distance tell me what is a realistic distance you can expect to cover in one day, barring any mishaps, etc without completely knackering yourself out.

Would this sort of distance be best split over three days?

Ta.
f2uk

Re:Realistic daily mileage...

Post by f2uk »

I'm no expert at this but from my limited experience on this type of bike I would say 'not as far as you think!'

I recently did a trip to Scotland and we had planned to do about 300 a day. First day 227, second 234. I was starting to think that the 4 day trip was going to be 5.
Third day, 350, fourth 448. On the fourth day there was a lot of major A roads and unfortunately motorways, but if you want to cover distance then that is definitely the way to do it.

There was some degree of getting used to the bike, getting comfortable. I hadn't really ridden for 10 years prior to this so the usual parts were aching.

So really the answer is, ride as far as you feel comfortable with, then stop.
I would look at a full three days to do 1400 miles if I knew there was a nice place to relax and unwind at the far end.
Jon Y

Post by Jon Y »

As f2uk says, it is very much down to you and the roads you choose.

I have done several rides covering a little over a 1000 miles in a day but I was on the bike for about 21-23 hours with only short breaks for fuel and food. I couldn't do it two days in a row.