Newbie here....

If you're new to the site make your 1st post here. Tell us who you are, what you ride, your travel plans, bank account details etc.
Ravers

Newbie here....

Post by Ravers »

Hi,

Found this place by accident. Looks like a great site.

I'm fairly new to all this, I only passed my test last month but have been tearing around on 125s and riding off road bikes since I was a kid. I also do a lot of hill walking and camping (I live in the Lake District), so combining my two main hobbies by getting an adventure bike is obviously quite appealing!

I went to look at a secondhand V Strom DL650 today and it had an ABR sticker on it so I decided to come and check the site out.

The bike looks good, it's got pretty high mileage (38k) but otherwise it looks like it's been very well looked after. The previous owner has nicely kitted it out with crash bars, ali panniers, top box, tank bag, sat nav bracket, heated grips, scot oiler, centre stand, bash plate, LED strip lights etc.

It's a 2008 in black. Sound familiar anyone?

Anyway before I dive in and buy it I'd appreciate some advice if possible?

Do you think 38k is too much mileage for a bike like this? I hear the DL650 is pretty bulletproof but is that pushing it a bit? I'm an engineer so don't mind getting my hands dirty occasionally, but I don't want to spend more time under it than on it.

Anyone run one of these? What are they like as a day to bike? I'd like to use it for some adventures all year round, maybe even some European trips and the odd commute. It will be my first 'big bike' so to speak. I've had a various 125 supermotos and MX bikes over the years and I ride a totally battered old XR400 off road, but this is obviously totally different.

Is it an OK bike for a beginner, or should I consider something else? I'm 6'2" so not too bothered about the size of it. I did my test on an XJ6 which I found pretty dull truth be told.